Author: BerksCountryFest_WP

Rachel Andie

Rachel Andie is a mellow folk singer-songwriter from Philadelphia. Rachel released her debut album, The Common Calamity, in August 2016. Since then, she has gained a following of like-minded individuals who believe in her message, to bring awareness to sensitive/pressing social issues through perspective lyrics and the art community of Philly. She is currently working on her second album, which will be a solo album comprised of live guitar loops and tap dancing as a form of percussion.

Tennessee Mafia Jug Band

Tennessee Mafia Jug Band, a group which hails from Nashville, brings its own brand of music mixed with humor and good, clean fun.

The TMJB consists of Leroy Troy, Lonesome Lester, Mike Armistead, Dan Kelly, Mike Webb and Ernie Sykes. This frolicking five-some brightens up the stage with rib-tickling old time tunes. Even better, they have an utter lack of self-consciousness (and some might say any sense of decorum). The Tennessee Mafia Jug Band not only know the music, they wear the costumes, tell corny jokes and even do slapstick gags that throw the audience into hysterics.

Michael and Jennifer McLain Band, featuring Dan Kelly

Husband and wife Michael and Jennifer McLain both grew up touring and performing in musical families, are both banjo players and have been playing together since their first date. Together, they have performed in 27 states and have appeared on the Grand Ole Opry, The Nashville Network, Country Music Television, National Public Radio, and PBS.

They are joined by Dan Kelly on fiddle. Rounding out the band on upright bass and harmony vocals is Kori Caswell, from Hannibal, Mo.


Grexin’ is  a local band playing what they like to call gypsy, folk and psychedelic blues, and jam-grass. The band is influenced by the Grateful Dead, Dan Hicks, Holy Model Rounders, Dr. John, Hot Tuna and more.

Grexin’ is: Ethan Bosco (guitar, vocals); Syd Jones (vocals, washboard, spoons); Tony Gentile (lead guitar); Kyle Madeya (upright bass); Zac Brock (mandolin); James Haggerty (fiddle, vocals).

The Boiled Owls

The Boiled Owls is a regional band performing a blend of folk, Americana and bluegrass originals. The Boiled Owls are: Christopher Holland (banjo, guitar, vocals); Christopher Murphy (guitar, vocals); Jerome McCaffrey (upright bass/vocals); Mike Spillane (mandolin); and Tim Dodson (lead guitar).

Lindi Ortega

Lindi Ortega is a Canadian country singer-songwriter from Toronto, Ontario, who now lives in Nashville, Tenn. Her voice has been described as a blend of Dolly Parton, Johnny Cash, and Emmylou Harris. She spent nearly a decade as an independent artist in the Toronto music scene, releasing two albums and an EP in that time. She has been described as “Toronto’s best kept secret” and nicknamed “Indie Lindi”. Ortega is currently signed to Last Gang Records where she has released four albums, most recently Faded Gloryville Aug. 7, 2015.
In February 2012, Ortega was nominated for two Juno Awards – New Artist of the Year and Roots & Traditional Album: Solo.
In June 2012, Ortega’s album Little Red Boots was named as a longlisted nominee for the 2012 Polaris Music Prize. In June 2013, her album Cigarettes & Truckstops was longlisted for the 2013 Polaris Music Prize.


Caroline Reese & the Drifting Fifth

Caroline Reese & the Drifting Fifth is an Americana/indie-rock band. The group has two years and three albums behind them, and they’ve opened for Ben Folds, Chris Stapleton, Gregory Alan Isakov, Israel Nash and the Secret Sisters.
Reese is a songwriter born and raised in Reading, Pa.
The group blends Reese’s folk/country background with electric guitarist Mark Watter’s alt-rock electric guitar to create sound that’s been lighting up bars, festivals and audiences since they formed in May 2013.

Little Leroys

Little Leroys is bringing their brand of roots rock, blues, rockabilly and honky tonk in our signature Lounge-A-Billy style to Berks Country Fest. 

Mickey Dean Fisher has played guitar for more than 50 years. In that time, he has performed and recorded with a number of famous people like Victoria Shaw, Rob Cosby, Heather Miles, Charlie Gracie and Robert Gordon.

In 2009, Cindy Little decided that she shouldn’t live another day without cultivating something that had been planted in her decades earlier — a love of soulful, yet quiet-tempered, music. And so she spent a year with a voice coach and sang her first time, solo, as the oldest performer at a springtime recital. The high that resulted was the catalyst for all that would come.

Mike Vitale has played in over 40 states while touring with “The Recipe,” a bluegrass/rock band, and outside the U.S. while working on cruise ships with Royal Caribbean International and Azamara Club Cruises. He has performed with several orchestras in Pennsylvania and has extensive theater and opera experience, including national tours of “The Wedding Singer,” “Footloose,” and “Beehive: The 60s Musical.”

Country, rock, swing, smooth jazz and worship are all styles Craig Rankin has played and will continue to perform in many of the Lancaster area’s venues that support live music. He’s more than thrilled to lay down a solid groove for Little Leroys.


The Undercoats

The Undercoats are Dennis Krause, Charlie Eschbach, Jeff Quattro, Matt Shirk and Rick Tomlinson.
Their debut CD, Save the Worm, features 11 songs including “Not That Lucky”, “Southern Time”, “Girl in the Clouds” and “Save The Worm”. The CD is a hook-driven pop rock record with a country rock glazing. It features Dennis Krause on lead vocals, Charlie Eschbach on guitar,  Jeff Quattro on Hammond and keys, Matt Shirk on bass and Rick Tomlinson on drums. Special performances by Marrissa Krause, Dennis Schwartz and John Bermingham.
All of the songs were written by Charlie Eschbach except the following : “Girl in The Clouds,” which was co-written with Jeff Quattro and Dennis Krause; “Not That Lucky” by Charlie Eschbach and Matt Shirk; and “Save the Worm” by Charlie Eschbach and Jeff Quattro.

The Youngers

Hailing from southeastern Pennsylvania, The Youngers were founded in 1999 by Todd Notobartolo (vocals, guitar, lap steel, and mandolin) and Randy Krater (vocals, electric and upright bass).
Rounding out the band is Matt Thren, guitars; and Bruce Kissinger, drums.
2016’s Picture of You is the third full-length release by the band, following 2005’s Output and 2008’s critically-acclaimed Heritage.
Their music has been featured on NPR, Sirius Radio and Cowboy Jack Clement’s Radio Show. Heritage also received glowing reviews by Vintage Guitar Magazine and the Philadelphia Inquirer.
Picture of You was recorded at the legendary Sound Emporium in Nashville, Tenn., and engineered by Grammy Award-winner Chuck Turner.

Pawnshop Bound


Pawnshop Bound is a quartet of Berks County natives who have placed their stamp on the local blues music scene and are ready to take on the East Coast.

Members of the quartet are Keith Brobst bass, vocals; Dave Thomas guitar, vocals; Mick Snook harmonica, vocals; and Jim Didyoung drums.

The quartet delights blues fans young and old. They’ve been on the local music scene for a while; members have played with bands like Blues Factor, Dave Melll Blues Band, Lil’ Ragu, Blues Dudes, Duck Soup and the Fowl Mouth Horns, and Hunch Boogie Band.

Over the years, the guys have performed numerous times at the Fleetwood Blues Festival, BarBQ Blues and Brews, and Berks Jazz Fest, as well as more intimate venues.